An LTC penalty period for non-allowable transfers may include partial months (WAG 07-02-20-d). When a nursing home or supportive living facility customer has a partial day within a partial month of eligibility due to a penalty period, enter the effective date (first full or partial day after the penalty period ends) in the MMIS LTC subsystem (preferable) or on the HFS 2299, Long Term Care Authorization (optional). When entering available income:
Example 1: Mr. Y applies for LTC assistance 09/01/12. He had a non-allowable transfer of $3,200 six months ago. The LTC private payment rate is $5,310. Mr. Y is ineligible for .61 months ($3,200 ÷ $5,310 = .602; roundup to two decimals). This makes Mr. Y ineligible for 18.3 days (30 days x .61). The first day of eligibility is 09/19/12. Mr. Y has $53 remaining ($177 daily rate X .3) from the penalty period to apply as the group care credit on 09/19. Enter 09/19/12 and $53 in the MMIS LTC subsystem or on the HFS 2299.
Continue to apply Mr. Y's income and resources to any remaining days in the month after the penalty period expires. Report the amount of the customer's Nursing Home Credit or SLF Credit and any remaining penalty liability in the MMIS LTC subsystem or on the HFS 2299. Complete the HFS 458LTC, Notice of Decision on Application for Medical Assistance - MANG Long Term Care/Supportive Living Facility, with the first day or partial day of eligibility.
For Department on Aging Community Care (HCBS waiver) cases, add the amount of the unused penalty to the customer's income for the month to reflect the partial month of ineligibility.
[signed copy on file]
Michelle R.B. Saddler
Secretary, Illinois Department of Human Services
Director, Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services
Illinois Department of Human ServicesJB Pritzker, Governor · Dulce Quintero, Secretary
IDHS Office Locator
IDHS Help Line
© 2023 Illinois Department of Human Services