Illinois Public Health Association


Attachments Page

Attachment 37


IPHA AmeriCorps Program

Program Description:

The Illinois Public Health AmeriCorps members help meet locally identified needs at health departments across the state through community service in the following focus areas: health promotion and outreach for programs serving youth, women, children and families; volunteer coordination; and assistance with community emergency preparedness. It is the mission of Illinois Public Health AmeriCorps program to strengthen the field of public health through the development of skilled and committed leaders, by supporting local public health activities, promoting community awareness and engaging volunteers. Members perform activities such as after-school programming, homeland security, nutrition education, volunteer coordination, diabetes education, smoking cessation, and dental health programs.

Primary Contact:

Kristen Ball
223 South Third St
Springfield, IL 62701
County: Sangamon
Phone: (217) 522-5687 ext. 206
Fax: (217) 522-5689
Email: kball@ipha.com

Host Sites:

Adams County Health Dept.

333 N Sixth St
Quincy, IL 62301
County: Adams
Contact: Julie Shepard
Phone: (217) 222-8440 ext. 106
Fax: (217) 222-8508
Email: jshepard@co.adams.il.us

Champaign Urbana Public Health District

201 Kenyon Rd
Champaign, IL 61820
County: Champaign
Contact: John Dwyer
Phone: (217) 531-2932
Fax: (217) 373-7905
Email: jdwyer@cuphd.org

Douglas County Health Dept.

1250 E US Hwy 36
Tuscola, IL 61953
County: Douglas
Contact: Kim Hunter
Phone: (217) 253-4137
Fax: (217) 253-3421
Email: dchealthed@yahoo.com

Illinois Depart. of Public Health Health Preparedness

500 E Monroe
8th Floor
Springfield, IL 62701
County: Sangamon
Contact: Sharie Sommer
Phone: (217) 558-0560
Email: sharie.sommer@illinois.gov

Illinois Public Health Association

223 South Third St
Springfield, IL 62701
County: Sangamon
Contact: Krissy Roseberry
Phone: (217) 522-5687
Fax: (217) 522-5689
Email: kroseberry@ipha.com

Jo Daviess County Health Dept.

9483 US Rt 20 W
Galena, IL 61036
County: Jo Davies
Contact: Peggy Murphy
Phone: (815) 777-0263
Fax: (815) 777-2977

Macon County Health Department

1221 E Condit St
Decatur, IL 62521
County: Macon
Contact: Shannon Corner
Phone: (217) 423-6988 ext. 1131
Fax: (217) 233-1696
Email: scomer@maconcountyhealth.org

Macoupin County Health Dept.

805 N Broad St
Carlinville, IL 62626
County: Macoupin
Contact: Kent Tarro
Phone: (217) 854-3223
Fax: (217) 854-3225
Email: ktarro@mcphd.net

Madison County Health Dept.

101 E Edwardsville Rd
Wood River, IL 62095
County: Madison
Contact: Debra Tscheschlok
Phone: (618) 296-6080
Fax: (618) 296-7011
Email: tmcorona@co.madison.il.us

McLean County Health Dept.

200 W Front St
Bloomington, IL 61701
County: McLean
Contact: Cathy Coverston-Anderson
Phone: (309) 888-5480
Fax: (309) 452-8479
Email: cathy.coverston@mcleancountyil.gov

Oak Park Dept. of Public Health

123 Madison St
Oak Park, IL 60302
Contact: Christopher Shields
County: Cook
Phone: (708) 358-5480
Fax: (708) 358-0851
Email: shields@oak-park.us

Sangamon County Department of Public Health

2501 N Dirksen Parkway
Springfield, IL 62702
County: Sangamon
Contact: Jim Henricks
Phone: (217) 535-3100
Fax: (217) 535-3104
Email: jimh@co.sangamon.il.us

St. Clair County Health Dept.

#19 Public Square
Suite 150
Belleville, IL 62220
County: St. Clair
Contact: Robin Hannon & Barb Hohlt
Phone: (618) 233-7703
Fax: (618) 236-7713
Email: robinh@scchd.org & barbh@scchd.org

Winnebago County Health Dept.

921 W State St
Rockford, IL 61102
County: Winnebago
Contact: Jan Juric
Phone: (815) 720-4310
Fax: (815) 962-0816
Email: kayala@wchd.org