A medical bill paid by someone other than a responsible relative, can be used to meet spenddown, if it qualifies. To qualify, the bill must have been paid within 6 months of the month that the client wants to use it and the person who
paid the bill must want to be repaid.
A bill for LTC or SLF charges paid by someone other than a responsible relative can be applied to a client's credit or spenddown for 6 months after the month of payment if the person who paid the bill wants to be repaid.
Medical bills for services paid by a public or private agency or entity, or a private charity, or through the Hill-Burton Act can be used to meet spenddown. These expenses can be used from the date of service through 6 months following the month of
payment. This includes expenses paid by the Division of Specialized Care for Children.
Illinois Department of Human ServicesJB Pritzker, Governor · Grace B. Hou, Secretary
IDHS Office Locator
IDHS Help Line
© 2023 Illinois Department of Human Services