CRSS Success Program

The CRSS Success Program is a grant-funded program operated through designated post-secondary educational institutions in Illinois.

The CRSS Success Program is designed to support students with lived experience of mental health or substance use recovery to successfully complete all requirements necessary to obtain either the Certified Recovery Support Specialist (CRSS) or Certified Peer Recovery Specialist (CPRS) and enter the behavioral health workforce.

The program will also provide support for students to overcome practical barriers to success, such as childcare and transportation, during the time of program completion.

Interested students can apply for the program at the following colleges and universities:

Chicago Area:

Governor's State University (South Suburban Chicago)

Cheryl Mejta
cmejta@govst.edu 

Nancy Burley
nburley@govst.edu 

(708) 534-4911

(708) 534-4387

Illinois Institute of Technology (South Loop/Near South) Karyn Stovall
kstovall@iit.edu 
(312) 567-5026
Malcolm X College (Near West Side) Veronica Sek
vsek1@ccc.edu 
(312) 850-7255
Rincon/New Hope School of Counseling (Irving Park) Kimberly Skoczelas
kskoczelas@rinconfamilyservices.org
(773) 564-9700
University of St. Francis (Joliet) Larry Dunbar
LDunbar@stfrancis.edu 
(815) 740-3686

Northern Illinois:

College of DuPage (Glen Ellyn)

Jason Florin
florin@cod.edu 

Andrea Polites
politesa@cod.edu 

(630) 942-2043

(630) 942-2103

Elgin Community College (Elgin)

Joe Rosenfeld
jrosenfeld@elgin.edu

 Kristina Garcia
kgarcia@elgin.edu 

(847) 214-7345

(847) 214-7805

Northern Illinois University (DeKalb) Paul Priester
ppriester@niu.edu 
(815) 753-5198
SIU School of Medicine (Dixon)

Kitty Juul
kjuul31@siumed.edu

Lori Williams
Lwilliams26@siumed.edu

(217) 545-7983

Central Illinois:

Heartland Community College (Normal)

Kelly Pyle

Kelly.pyle@heartland.edu

(309) 268-8755

Southern Illinois:

SIU Edwardsville (Edwardsville)

Jayme Swanke
jswanke@siue.edu

(618) 650-5976