CRSS Success Program

The CRSS Success Program is a grant-funded program operated through designated post-secondary educational institutions in Illinois.

The CRSS Success Program is designed to support students with lived experience of mental health or substance use recovery to successfully complete all requirements necessary to obtain either the Certified Recovery Support Specialist (CRSS) or Certified Peer Recovery Specialist (CPRS) and enter the behavioral health workforce.

The program provides support for eligible students to overcome practical barriers to full participation and success, including but not limited to student tuition, books, and fees; ICB credentialing fees; general technology needs (e.g., laptop, tablet, hotspot, etc.); stipends for practical experience (internship) component; clothing for practical experience (internship) component (e.g., polo shirts, professional attire, etc.); childcare and transportation (including parking); employment and housing supports; counseling, advising, and transfer services; legal support to address barriers to employment related to criminal history or citizenship status; any other needs and/or accommodations essential for students to maintain participation in the program.

Scholarship Fund

Designated post-secondary educational institutions (listed below) maintain and manage a needs-based scholarship fund for Illinois residents who are CRSS and CPRS candidates or credentialed professionals, available to qualified Illinois residents, not just students in the CRSS Success program.

Illinois residents can apply for scholarship funds to cover any of the following: ICB credentialing fees (application, exam, annual renewal); transportation costs to and from exam site.

Interested students can apply for the program at the following colleges and universities:

Chicago Area:

Governor's State University (South Suburban Chicago)

Cheryl Mejta
cmejta@govst.edu 

Nancy Burley
nburley@govst.edu 

(708) 534-4911

(708) 534-4387

Illinois Institute of Technology (South Loop/Near South) Karyn Stovall
kstovall@iit.edu 
(312) 567-5026
Malcolm X College (Near West Side) Veronica Sek
vsek1@ccc.edu 
(312) 850-7255
Rincon/New Hope School of Counseling (Irving Park) Kimberly Skoczelas
kskoczelas@rinconfamilyservices.org
(773) 564-9700
University of St. Francis (Joliet) Larry Dunbar
LDunbar@stfrancis.edu 
(815) 740-3686

Northern Illinois:

College of DuPage (Glen Ellyn)

Jason Florin
florin@cod.edu 

Andrea Polites
politesa@cod.edu 

(630) 942-2043

(630) 942-2103

Elgin Community College (Elgin)

Joe Rosenfeld
jrosenfeld@elgin.edu

 Kristina Garcia
kgarcia@elgin.edu 

(847) 214-7345

(847) 214-7805

Northern Illinois University (DeKalb) Paul Priester
ppriester@niu.edu 
(815) 753-5198
SIU School of Medicine (Dixon)

Kitty Juul
kjuul31@siumed.edu

Lori Williams
Lwilliams26@siumed.edu

(217) 545-7983

Central Illinois:

Heartland Community College (Normal)

Kelly Pyle

Kelly.pyle@heartland.edu

(309) 268-8755

Southern Illinois:

SIU Edwardsville (Edwardsville)

Jayme Swanke
jswanke@siue.edu

(618) 650-5976