Due to state law, the state minimum wage will increase to $12.00 per hour effective 01/01/2022. The new minimum wage can be used when determining customer participation hours for SNAP Employment and Training Program and certain TANF work-like activities.
A person's monthly participation hours are based on the amount of SNAP benefits received divided by the state minimum wage of $12.00 per hour effective 01/01/2022.
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) determines the maximum number of hours to which we may assign an individual in work-like activities. Customers cannot be assigned more hours than the total amount of Cash and SNAP benefits divided by the larger of state or federal minimum wage for:
For these two FLSA activities, the core 20/30 hour participation requirement is deemed met for a case when the customer participates the number of hours indicated by the FLSA calculation.
Forms IL444-3673 and IL444-4044 will be revised to reflect the new state minimum wage.
[signed copy on file]
Grace B. Hou
Secretary, Illinois Department of Human Services
Illinois Department of Human ServicesJB Pritzker, Governor · Dulce Quintero, Secretary
IDHS Office Locator
IDHS Help Line
© 2023 Illinois Department of Human Services