Developmental Disabilities Advisory Committee


The Illinois Department of Human Services/Division of Developmental Disabilities (DDD) established the Developmental Disabilities Advisory Committee (DDAC) in January of 2020 to provide a venue for members to give advice and recommendations on the activities of the Division and the Illinois DD service system.

More specifically, committee members:

  • Provide feedback on policy and processes that the Division is implementing.
  • Participate and/or establish smaller work-groups meant to create new policy, processes, training and/or other deliverables that will positively impact the service system. These work-groups will bring in additional individuals not currently seated on the Advisory Committee that can best inform the topic or work-group need.
  • Assist the Division in obtaining feedback from individuals with I/DD in order to better inform services.

Advisory Committee Requirements

Training Requirements for this Board/Commission/Committee/Task Force.


Meetings will be held at least quarterly and will be held by video/telephone conference. The DDAC are open meetings.

2024 Meetings


Appointments were made by the Director of the Division of Developmental Disabilities based on an application process. The DAC is comprised of individuals with DD, family members, stakeholders, association representatives, Independent Service Coordination Agencies (ISCs), advocates, provider staff and members of the Division, as well as staff representing other areas within IDHS or across agencies. Appointments of association representatives, Division staff and other departmental staff will be ongoing. Appointments of individuals with DD, family members, stakeholders, advocates, ISCs and provider staff will last 3 years, with the ability to renew.

Member Biographies

Name Affiliation
Tyson Bedford Self-Advocate
Mike Bibo The Center
Kathy Carmody The Institute on Public Policy
Shawna Egan Family
Joe Ferrara Misericordia Homes
Timotheus Gordon Self-Advocate
JJ Hanley ABLE - IL. State Treasurer's Office
Doris Hayes EPIC!
Sherry Healey Community Access Naperville
Hollis Gorrie Clearbrook
Kristen Huffman-Gottschling PACTT Learning Center
Kimberly Johnson Chicago Public Schools
Dawn Lamp Coleman Tri-County Services
Craig Laskowski So. IL. Association of Rehabilitation Facilities
Merlin Lehman Family
Amie Lulinski The Arc of Illinois
Sheila Lullo Clearbrook
Kimberly Mercer-Schleider IL. Council on Developmental Disabilities
Leanne Mull Blue Tower Solutions
Carl Nave Self-Advocate
Shelley Peck Family
John Pingo Goldie B. Floberg Center
Eric Robke Community Link
Mary Kaye Spidel So. IL. Case Coordination Services
Deb Stanley Suburban Access
Melanie Stith Family
Kaitlin Stober University of IL. at Chicago
Ben Stortz Cornerstone Services
Patty Walters Developmental Services Center
Lea Whitney Supporting IL. Brothers & Sisters (S.I.B.S.)

IDHS Administrative Support

Developmental Disability Advisory Committee Contact: Megan Brennan -; (217) 986-1187.