Public Charge Information

KNOW YOUR RIGHTS! Top 5 Facts About Public Charge (pdf) - Top messages to share with immigrant communities on the recent changes to public charge (PIF) Arabic (pdf) | Chinese(pdf)Haitian/Creole (pdf) | Korean(pdf) | Español (pdf)Vietnamese (pdf) | Français (pdf) | Tagalog (pdf)

What Should I Know When Enrolling My Children in Public Benefits? (pdf) - Use this guide to help answer commonly asked questions about how to make good decisions for your family and their health (PIF) Arabic (pdf) | Chinese (pdf)Haitian/Creole (pdf)Korean (pdf) | Español (pdf) | Vietnamese (pdf)| Français (pdf) | Tagalog (pdf)

Public Charge: Does This Apply to Me? (pdf) - How public charge will impact you based on your immigration status, and what you should do (PIF) Arabic (pdf) | Chinese (pdf)Haitian/Creole (pdf) | Korean (pdf) | Español (pdf)Vietnamese (pdf) | Français (pdf) | Tagalog (pdf)

Immigrants Rights to Health Care: Treatment and Coverage (pdf) - An overview for mixed-status families when it comes to going to the doctor or enrolling in health insurance (PIF) Arabic(pdf)Chinese (pdf)Haitian/Creole (pdf)| Korean (pdf) | Español (pdf)Vietnamese (pdf)| Français (pdf) | Tagalog (pdf)

Public Online Public Charge Screening Tool

We encourage you to use this online screening tool with immigrants and those who assist them to understand which immigrants face a public charge test and which benefits are included in the public charge test. The website lists the federal names of the benefit programs and is available in English, Spanish, and Chinese.

Go to https://keepyourbenefits.org/en/na/ (English)

Go to https://keepyourbenefits.org/es/na/ (Spanish)

Go to https://keepyourbenefits.org/cn/na/ (Chinese)

Illinois Coalition for Immigrant and Refugee Rights Updated August 2020 

The Immigrant Family Resource Program is a partnership between the IL Department of Human Services, the IL Coalition for Immigrant and Refugee Rights, and community-based and ethnic organizations across Illinois. Partners are available to provide outreach, information and referral, case management, and interpretation/translation services, especially for IDHS services. If you are in need of an interpreter for IDHS services, please contact one of our partners below. While these are not language lines (i.e. immediate access), partners are available for interpretation when given sufficient notice. The Illinois Welcoming Centers are one-stop human service centers designed to help immigrants navigate Illinois' human services delivery systems.

Public Charge Informational Centers Contact List

Chicago South

Organization IFRP IWC Mailing Address Phone # Main Contact (IFRP) Language
Arab American Action Network   X 3148 W. 63rd St. 2nd fl. Chicago, IL 60629 (773) 436-6060

Fatmah Tabally:

fatmah@aaan.org

English and Arabic
Chinese American Service League   X 2141 South Tan Court Chicago, IL 60616 (312) 791-0418

James Ewing:

Jamie_ewing@caslservice.org

English, Chinese: Cantonese, and Mandarin
Casa Michoacan/FEDECMI   X 1638 S. Blue Island Chicago, IL 60608 (630) 823- 6882

Margarita Lugo:

mlugo@fedecmiusa.org

English and Spanish
Instituto del Progreso Latino   X 2520 S. Western Avenue, Chicago, IL 60608-4817 (773) 890-0055

Agatha DeMarchi:

a.demarchi@idpl.org

English and Spanish
Latino Organization of the Southwest   X   X 4051 W. 63rd St., Chicago, IL 60629 (773) 581-1900

Susana Sepulveda:

susana_sepulveda74@yahoo.com

English and Spanish
United African Organization   X 4910 S King Dr., 1st. Floor, Chicago IL 60615 (312) 949-9980

Mirabel Wiryen:

mirabel.wiryen@uniteafricans.org

English, French and Fulani

Chicago North

Organization IFRP IWC Mailing Address Phone # Main Contact (IFRP) Language
Erie Neighborhood House   X 1347 W Erie St Chicago IL 60642 (312) 666-3430

Jane Lombardi:

jlombardi@eriehouse.org

English, Spanish and Greek
Cambodian Association of Illinois   X 2831 W. Lawrence Ave. Chicago, IL 60625 (773) 878-7090

Saroeun Soeun:

saroeun@cambodian-association.org

English and Khmer
Centro Romero   X 6216 N. Clark Street Chicago, IL 60660 (773) 508-5300

Ofelia Gonzalez:

o.gonzalez@centroromero.org

English and Spanish
Chinese Mutual Aid Association   X 1016 W. Argyle Street Chicago, IL 60640 (773) 784-2900

Allen Wong:

allenw@chinesemutualaid.org

English, Chinese: Cantonese and Mandarin, Bosnian, Burmese, and Vietnamese
Family Focus Hermosa   X   X 4878 W Armitage Ave, Chicago, IL 60639 (773) 276-0940

Yessica Arenas:

Yessica.Arenas@family-focus.org

English and Spanish
Indo-American Center   X 6328 N. California Chicago, IL 60659 (773) 973-4444

Binny Christian:

bchristian@indoamerican.org

English, Hindi, Urdu, Gujarati, and Arabic
Iraqi Mutual Aid Society   X 6420 N. California Ave. Unit #A Chicago, IL 60645 (773) 409-4597

Muna Korel:

mkorel@iraqimutualaid.org

English and Arabic
HANA Center   X   X 4300 N. California Chicago, IL 60618 (847) 520- 1999

Eunki Kim:

kim@hanacenter.org

English and Korean
Muslim Women Resource Center   X 6445 N. Western Ave. Suite 301, Chicago, Illinois 60645 (773) 764-1686

Alina Hanif:

alina@mwrcnfp.org

English, Urdu, Arabic, and Pashto
Northside Community Resources   X 1530 W. Morse Ave. Chicago IL 60626 (773) 338-7722

Aga Kusmierz:

aga@northsidecr.org

English, Spanish, Hindi, Gujarati, Urdu, Nepali, Polish
Pan African Association   X 6163 N Broadway, Chicago, IL 60660 (773) 381-9723

Elsa Woldegarima:

ewoldegarima@panafricanassociation.org

English, Amharic, Tigrinya, Rohingya, Kinyarwanda, Swahili, and French
Polish American Association   X 3834 N. Cicero Ave. Chicago IL 60641 (773) 767-7773

Iwona Brzezinska:

iwona.brzezinska@polish.org

English and Polish
South-East Asia Center   X 5120 N. Broadway Chicago, IL 60640 (773) 989-6927

Fanny Wong:

seac5120@yahoo.com

English, Vietnamese, Chinese: Cantonese, and Mandarin
Syrian Community Network   X 5439 N Broadway Chicago IL 60640 (773) 754-7099

Rama Atieh:

Rama@syriancommunitynetwork.org

English and Arabic
Vietnamese Association of Illinois   X   X 5110 N. Broadway St. Chicago IL (773) 728-3700

Minh Nguyen:

minh.nguyen@hnvi.org

English, Vietnamese, Chinese, Arabic, French, and Spanish

Suburban Cook and Collar Counties

Organization IFRP IWC Mailing Address Phone # Main Contact (IFRP) Language
Arab American Family Services   X   X 7000 W 111th St, Worth, IL 60482 (708) 599-2237

Amal Abdallah:

aabdallah@aafsil.org

English, Arabic, Spanish
Aunt Martha's Youth Service Center, Inc.   X 19990 Governors Highway, Olympia Fields, Illinois 60461 (708) 697-7207 All languages
Catholic Charities-Waukegan   X 914 8th St. Waukegan, IL 60085 (847) 775-0858 English and Spanish
Centro de Informacion   X   X 1885 Lin Lor Lane, Elgin, IL 60123 (847) 695-9050

Adriana Lopez:

a.lopez@centrodeinformacion.org

English and Spanish
Family Focus Aurora   X   X 550 E Second AveAurora IL 60505 (630) 844-2550

Shaquita Booker:

shaquita.booker@family-focus.org

English and Spanish
Family Focus Cicero   X   X 1500 S. 59th CourtCicero IL, 60804 (708) 652-0900

Michelle Ramirez:

Michelle.Ramirez@family-focus.org

English and Spanish
Hanul Family Alliance   X 1166 S. Elmhurst Rd. Mt. Prospect, IL 60056 (774) 478-8851

Eun Hee Park:

eunnie@hanulusa.org

English and Korean
Latino Resource Institute of Illinois   X 8910 South Commercial Ave., Chicago Illinois 60617 (773) 356-5923 English and Spanish
Our Lady of Mt. Carmel   X 1101 N. 23rd Avenue, Melrose Park Illinois 60160 (708) 345-3632 English, Spanish, Italian, and Polish
Spanish Community Center   X   X 309 N. Eastern Ave. Joliet, IL 60432 (815) 641-2702 Claudia Davila: claudia@spanishcenter.org English and Spanish
World Relief DuPage 191   X   X 191 S Gary Ave #130 Carol Stream, IL 60188 (630) 462-7566

Durmomo Gary:

dgary@wr.org

English, Arabic, Burmese, and Nepali
Xilin Association   X 1163 E. Ogden Ave, Suite 301, Naperville, Illinois 60563 (708) 228-9211 English, Chinese, Korean, Lao, Vietnamese, and Cambodian

North, Central, and Downstate

Organization IFRP IWC Mailing Address Phone # Main Contact Language
Cass County Health Dept   X 331 South Main Street, Virginia, Illinois 62691 (217) 452-3057 English, Spanish and French
The Refugee Center (Previously known as East Central Illinois Refugee & Mutual Assistance Center)   X 201 W. Kenyon Rd., Suite 4DChampaign, IL 61820 (217) 344-8455 admin@ecirmac.org English, Russian, Spanish, Vietnamese, Mandarin, Cantonese, French, Lao, German, Turkman, and Arabic
HACES   X 820 W. Greenwood Ave. Waukegan, IL 60087 (847)244-0300

Jocelyn G Rodriguez:

jrodriguez@haces.org

English and Spanish
Illinois Migrant Council   X   118 S. Clinton St., Suite 500 Chicago, Illinois 60661 (312)804-1037

Esperanza Gonzalez:

esperanz-gonzalez@sbcglobal.net

English, French Creole, and Spanish
Mano a Mano Family Resource Center   X   X 6 E. Main Street Round Lake Park, IL 60073 (847) 201-1521

Astrid Martinez:

amartinez@mamfrc.org

English and Spanish
Puentes de Esperanza   X   X 8 Executive Drive Suite 200 Fairview Heights, IL 62208 (618) 688-4739

Kristen Eng:

keng@hoyleton.org

English and Spanish
SAL Family and Community Services   X 4210 44th Avenue, Moline, Illinois 61262 (309)793-8201 English, Spanish, Swahili, Arabic, and Kirundi
University YMCA   X 1001 South Wright Street, Champaign, IL 61820 (217)337-1500 Zoë Foote: zoe@universityymca.org English, Spanish, French, Chinese, Hindi, Bengali, and Q'anjob'al
World Relief- Moline   X 1852 16th St, Moline, IL 61265 (309) 764-2279

Habie Timbo

Htimbo@wr.org

English, Spanish, Russian, Turkish, Uzbek, Arabic, Caroundi, French, Swahili, Burmese, and Filani
Youth Service Bureau of Illinois Valley   X 12 Gunia Dr, Lasalle, IL 61301 (815)261-4101

Mario Espinoza:

mario@ysbiv.org

English and Spanish
YWCA -La Voz Latina   X 4990 E. State St. Rockford, IL 61108 (815)968-9681

Marlin Berrospe:

marlinb@ywcanwil.org

English and Spanish

For more information please contact Dagmara Avelar, Director of Programs at davelar@icirr.org

Illinois Coalition for Immigrant and Refugee Rights - 228 South Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60604 www.icirr.org