IDHS 4433 - SNAP WORK REQUIREMENT POSTER (COOK) (pdf)

State of Illinois
Department of Human Services

ATTENTION SNAP PARTICIPANTS!

Beginning January 1, 2020, there will be a change in the work rules for SNAP recipients living in Cook County

4 Important questions for SNAP participants:

  • Are you between 18 and 49 years old?
  • Is everyone on your SNAP case at least 18 years old?
  • Are you able to work?
  • Do you work less than 20 hours per week?

If ANY questions listed above were answered NO proceed below

This change will not affect you if you:

  • Are under age 18 or 50 years of age or older.
  • Are physically or mentally unfit for work.
  • Are pregnant.
  • Are residing in a SNAP household where a member is under age 18, even if the household member who is under 18 is not eligible for SNAP* Are a parent of a household member under age 18, even if the household member who is under 18 is not eligible for SNAP.
  • Are a parent of a household member under age 18, even if the household member who is under 18 is not eligible for SNAP.

* Are otherwise exempt under Work Provisions.

If ALL questions listed above were answered YES proceed below

This change may affect you. The SNAP work requirement limits you to only 3 months of SNAP benefits in a 36-month period, if you do not meet the work rules, or qualify for an exemption. The 36-month period is January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2020. These work rule changes will take effect for SNAP recipients living in Cook County starting January 1, 2020. To keep getting your SNAP benefits for more than 3 months out of the 36-month period, you will need to:

  • Work (paid or unpaid) an average of 20 hours per week (80 hours per month); or
  • Volunteer to participate and comply with one of the following activities provided by the SNAP Employment and Training Program (SNAP E & T), if available: Basic Education, Vocational Training, Work Experience, Community Work, Earnfare; or
  • Do work for an approved workfare program of a local governmental unit for the required number of hours per week; or * Take part in an approved workfare program of a local governmental unit for the required number of hours per week; or
  • Do community work at agencies, churches, or other organizations in your community for the required number of hours per week; or
  • Do any combination of work or participation in a work activity; or
  • Be otherwise exempt under Work Provisions.

ASK A CASEWORKER WHAT IT MEANS FOR YOU


In accordance with Federal law and U.S. Department of Agriculture policy, this institution is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, religion, political beliefs, or disability.

To file a complaint of discrimination, write USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20250-9410 or call (800) 795-3272 (voice) or (202) 720-6382 ( TTY). USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer.

IDHS 4433 Work Requirement/Time-Limited Benefits for ABAWDs Flyer (R-12-19)  Printed by the Authority of the State of Illinois PO#20-0741 500 copies