
For more information:  
Call or visit your Illinois Department of  
Human Services’ Family Community Resource 
Center (FCRC). 
 
If you have questions about any Illinois 
Department of Human Services (IDHS) 
program, call or visit your FCRC. We will 
answer your questions. If you do not know 
where your FCRC is or if you are unable to go 
there, you may call the automated helpline  
24 hours a day at: 

1-800-843-6154  
(866) 324-5553 TTY/Nextalk or 711 TTY Relay  

You may speak to a representative between: 
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. 
Monday - Friday (except state holidays)  
For answers to your questions, 
you may also write:  
Illinois Department of Human Services 
Bureau of Customer and Support Services 
100 South Grand Avenue East, 2nd Floor 
Springfield, Illinois  62762  
Visit our website at:  
www.dhs.state.il.us  
 
In accordance with Federal law and U.S. 
Department of Agriculture policy, this institution 
is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of 
race, color, national origin, sex, age, religion, 
political beliefs, or disability.  
 
To file a complaint of discrimination, write 
USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 
Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C. 
20250-9410 or call (800) 795-3272 (voice) or 
(202) 720-6382 (TTY). USDA is an equal 
opportunity provider and employer. 
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Temporary Assistance For  
Needy Families (TANF) Program

The Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program is run by the Illinois Department of  
Human Services. The program is for families with children and pregnant women who need temporary  
cash assistance. Those receiving TANF also receive medical assistance. Most TANF families also 
receive SNAP benefits to buy food. 
 

 Who Qualifies For TANF  
To qualify for TANF, you must: 

● Be pregnant or have a child under age 19 living with you. If the child is age 18, he/she must be a  
full-time high school student. A pregnant woman with no other children (and her spouse, if he lives 
with her) can get assistance; 

● Live in Illinois (if you are homeless, you can still qualify); and 

● Be a U.S. citizen or meet certain immigration requirements (ask your caseworker what they are).  
If your children qualify as citizens or immigrants but you do not, you may receive TANF  
just for your children. 

● Develop a Responsibility and Services Plan (RSP). 
 
You do not qualify for TANF if you have been convicted of certain felony offenses, violated your probation 
or parole, refuse to work or pursue child support enforcement, withhold information needed to determine 
eligibility, or have used up your five years of TANF benefits.  

 How To Apply  
   You can apply for TANF at your local Illinois Department of Human Services (IDHS) Family Community 
Resource Center (FCRC). If you are homeless, go to the nearest FCRC. If you don’t know where to go, 
you may call the automated helpline 24 hours a day at 1-800-843-6154 (voice) or (866) 324-5553 
TTY/Nextalk or 711 TTY Relay. You may speak to a representative between 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. 
Monday - Friday (except state holidays). You can also apply online by going to <www.dhs.state.il.us> and 
selecting the “Apply Online” option. You have a choice of submitting your application electronically, or 
printing out a paper form to mail, fax, or take to your FCRC. The web site can tell you which FCRC serves 
your area.  
   You will be asked to come to the FCRC for an interview. At the interview a caseworker will ask you 
questions and enter your answers into a computer. The caseworker will then print out the application with 
your answers on it and have you sign it. The caseworker will ask to see proof of the information you give, 
such as the children’s birth certificates (to show they are related to you), Social Security cards for 
everyone, paycheck stubs and proof of other income. There is a limit to how much money you can have 
and still qualify for TANF. The caseworker may also ask for proof of other things to show you qualify for 
assistance. If you need help getting this proof, your caseworker can help you if you ask.  
   IDHS will make a decision on your application and notify you in writing within 45 days.
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 If Your Application Is Denied 
 
   If the notice says your application is turned down and 
you think the decision is wrong, you can appeal and ask 
for a fair hearing. At the hearing, you can explain why 
you think your application should be approved. You must 
file your appeal in writing or by calling toll free  
1-800-435-0774 (voice) or (866) 324-5553 TTY/Nextalk 
or 711 TTY Relay. For more information about your right 
to appeal, ask your caseworker or call the toll-free 
number on the back of this brochure. 
 

 If Your Application Is Approved  
 
   If your application is approved, you will receive 
monthly cash and medical benefits as long as you qualify 
for TANF. The amount of your cash benefits depends on 
the size of your family and the county where you live. If 
you also get money from another source, your benefits 
may be less than the full payment level. 
   Your cash benefits will be issued electronically through 
an Illinois Link card or deposited directly into your bank 
account. In some situations, a check may be mailed to 
you at your home. 
   You will also receive a medical card that lets you take 
part in the Healthcare and Family Services’ Medical 
Assistance program. You can use the medical card to pay 
for most medical services, as long as the provider 
accepts the card. If you are eligible, your first medical 
card may cover your family’s medical expenses for up to 
three months before the month you applied.    
   Family planning services are covered by the medical 
card. Ask your doctor about ways to plan how many 
children you want and when you want to have them. 
   If you and your children are not eligible for cash 
benefits, you may still qualify for medical assistance. Ask 
your caseworker or call the toll-free number on the back 
of this brochure for more information. 
 
 Lifetime Limit of 60 Months  
 (Five Years) of Cash Benefits 
 
   Adults age 18 and older and their children can get 
cash benefits for only 60 months. This includes months 
that you got TANF cash benefits in another state. This is 
your lifetime limit. You can never start over. 

   We will not count a month if you reported earnings for 
that month and you work an average of 30 hours or more 
per week. If you are a two-parent family, you must work 35 
hours per week. Working is one way you can get cash 
benefits that do not use up your time. For one-parent 
families, we will not count any month during which you are a 
full-time student in college with at least a 2.5 grade point 
average (on a 4.0 scale). Also, a month doesn’t count if we 
have approved you to care for (1) your child under 18 or 
spouse due to their medical condition or (2) your disabled 
child under 21 who has a Home and Community-based Care 
Program waiver for medically fragile/technology-dependent 
children under age 21 or (3) if we have approved you for a 
family violence exclusion. 
   When you reach your 60-month limit, you and your 
children cannot get any more cash benefits. You can still get 
medical assistance and SNAP benefits. If you care for 
children for whom you are not the parent, you can still get 
cash for just the children after your time runs out. 
   If you are not in the cash case and you only get cash 
benefits for a child(ren), you can get the benefits until 
he/she is 19 (or 18 and not in school). If you are the 
child(ren)’s parent, you cannot choose to be left out of the 
cash case to avoid the time limit. 
 

 Exceptions To The 60-Month Limit 
 
   Your family might be able to receive more than 60 months 
of TANF benefits if you or another adult in your case: 
● have a pending SSI application and are determined 

disabled by us; or 
● are determined unable to work at least 30 hours per 

week due to a medical condition; or 
● are in an intensive program that prevents working at 

least 30 hours per week (includes DCFS, domestic or 
sexual violence, homeless services, mental health, 
substance abuse, and vocational rehabilitation programs); 
or 

● are in an approved education and training program that 
will be finished within 6 months after the end of the 60 
months; or 

● are approved to care for a related child under 18 or 
spouse due to their medical condition; or 

● have a disabled child who is approved for a Home and 
Community-based Care Waiver for medically 
fragile/technology-dependent children under age 21. 

If you think you may qualify and want to apply for an 
exception, you must file a written request.

 Work Requirement 
 
   If you are a single parent who is able to work and your 
youngest child is under age 6, you must work or participate in a 
work activity for at least 20 hours per week. If you are a 
single parent who is able to work and your youngest child is 
age 6 or older, you must work or participate in a work activity 
for at least 30 hours per week. Two-parent families are 
required to work 35 hours per week. If you work, you must 
report your earnings every six months. Your cash benefits 
are reduced only $1 for every $4 you earn, and the 
department helps pay for necessary child care. 
   Work and training activities include: unpaid work 
experience, on-the-job training, job search, community 
service programs, vocational education, subsidized 
employment, work-study, VISTA and Job Corps. Activities 
that address barriers to employment include treatment 
programs for domestic or sexual violence, substance abuse, 
and mental health disorders. For parents under age 20, 
attending high school or GED classes counts as a  
work activity. An adult that does not currently have a high 
school diploma or high school equivalency certificate can 
participate in an Adult GED Program that will count as a 
core activity work requirement. 
 
 Work Exemptions 
 
   You do not have to work or be in a work activity if you 
are age 60 or older, or you care for a child under age one, 
or you receive TANF only for a child and you are not the 
child’s parent. If you are a parent under age 20 and don’t 
have a high school diploma or GED, you cannot be exempt 
to care for a child under age one. 
 

 You Will Lose Your Cash Benefits 
 If You Don’t Cooperate With Your  
 Plan Without a Good Reason 
 
   You must do the things in your plan to receive your cash 
benefits. This includes three main requirements: giving the 
required information about your children’s absent parent and 
doing what is needed to get child support, making sure your 
children go to school, and working or participating in a work, 
training, or other self-sufficiency activity. If you fail to do any 
of these things without a good reason, you will be sanctioned. 
 
● When you are sanctioned, your cash benefits will be 

reduced by 7.5%. If you cooperate, they will be restored 
right away. 

When you fail to cooperate with Child Support Enforcement, 
your name will be taken off your medical card, and you 
will not get medical assistance until you cooperate, unless 
you are pregnant. 
 

 Other Things You Must Do  
 To Stay Eligible 
 
   Tell your caseworker when you get a job. 
   Tell your caseworker when you move. If you are 
homeless, tell us how we can reach you. If your 
caseworker cannot find you, your benefits will stop. 
   Keep all your appointments with department staff. If 
you cannot keep an appointment for a good reason, be 
sure to contact your caseworker right away. 
    Report all changes in your family situation to your 
caseworker. A change may affect how much your benefits 
should be. If you get more benefits than you should, you 
will have to pay them back or they will be deducted from 
your future monthly benefits. 
   Tell your caseworker if you think you received the 
wrong amount of benefits. 
   Return the report forms we send you. If you are 
working, you will be asked to send proof of your earnings 
with the report form.  
 

 Additional Help 
 
   If you need child care, ask your caseworker how to 
apply for help in locating a qualified provider and paying 
for the care. If you have a crisis situation or become 
homeless, talk to your caseworker. Ask for a Crisis 
Assistance application. The department may be able to 
help you meet your needs during this difficult time. 
   Whether or not you qualify for TANF, you may be 
eligible for SNAP benefits. You can use SNAP to buy 
food for your family. If your family is in immediate need 
of food, your SNAP application may be processed right 
away. You could receive your SNAP benefits within a  
few days.


