
Responsible
Relatives

For more information:
Call or visit your Illinois Department of
Human Services’ Family Community
Resource Center (FCRC).

If you have questions about any Illinois
Department of Human Services (IDHS)
program, call or visit your FCRC. We will
answer your questions. If you do not know
where your FCRC is or if you are unable to
go there, you may call the automated 
helpline 24 hours a day at:

1-800-843-6154 
(866) 324-5553 TTY/Nextalk or 711 TTY Relay

You may speak to a representative between:
8:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Monday - Friday (except state holidays)

For answers to your questions,
you may also write:
Illinois Department of Human Services
Bureau of Customer Support and Services
100 South Grand Avenue East
Springfield, Illinois  62762

Visit our web site at:
www.dhs.state.il.us

Programs, activities and employment opportunities in the Illinois
Department of Human Services are open and accessible to any
individual or group without regard to age, sex, race, sexual orientation,
disability, ethnic origin or religion. The department is an equal
opportunity employer and practices affirmative action and reasonable
accommodation programs.
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Responsible
Relatives
What is a responsible

relative?
Illinois state law says that a
responsible relative is someone who
must pay money to help take care of a
family member who receives public
assistance.

This brochure will not provide
information about child support. If
you have questions about your
responsibility to pay child support,
please call the Child Support Help Line
toll free at 1-800-447-4278 (voice) or 
1-800-526-5812 (TTY).

Am I a responsible relative?

Spouses - 
You are a responsible relative if your
husband or wife receives public
assistance.

Parents - 
You are responsible for your child
under 18 years of age unless your
child has married and is not living
with you. 

Civil Union Partners (TANF Only) - 
You are a responsible relative if your
partner receives public assistance.
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An IDHS worker in the central office will
review this information.  The review takes
about 45 days.  IDHS will then mail you an
Administrative Support Order or a No
Obligation Letter. 
If IDHS decides that you can afford to help
take care of your relative, we will mail you
an Administrative Support Order. This
notice will tell you:
■ How much you have to pay to help take

care of your relative
■ When you have to pay the money
■ Where to send the money

If IDHS decides that you cannot afford or
should not have to pay money to help take
care of your relative, we will send you a
No Obligation Letter. This letter will tell
you that you do not have to pay any
money.

What do I have to do?
If an IDHS worker asks you for information,
you must provide it.  If you do not, IDHS
may get a court order demanding the
information.  If you receive an
Administrative Support Order and do not
pay the money, IDHS may take legal action
to get the money.

How does the Illinois 
Department of Human

Services (IDHS) decide how
much money I will have to pay?
An IDHS worker will ask you for
information about your income and your
family situation. This information will
help IDHS understand how much money
you have and how much you can afford
to pay to help take care of your relative.
If you are a responsible relative and your
spouse or child who receives public
assistance does not live with you, the
amount of money you must pay is based
on your income and the number of
people in your family.

If IDHS needs more information to find
out if you’re a responsible relative, you
will receive a Notice of Obligation to
Support.  This notice will ask you to
send copies of some or all of the
following information:

■ A current federal income tax return
■ Paycheck stubs
■ Pension or retirement check stubs
■ Bankruptcy judgements
■ A divorce decree
■ A separation order

What to do if you think IDHS
made a mistake.

If you think IDHS made a mistake, you
can ask for a hearing.  You must ask for
a hearing in writing within 30 days of the
date you received your Administrative
Support Order.
For more information about your right 
to appeal and how to receive a fair
hearing, ask your caseworker or call 
the Bureau of Customer Support and
Services toll free at 1-800-843-6154
(voice) or (866) 324-5553 TTY/Nextalk 
or 711 TTY Relay.

How often will IDHS review 
my case?

If your are a responsible relative, the
amount of money you have to pay to
help take care of your relative will be
reviewed and may change each year.

You may also ask IDHS to review the
amount of money you have to pay any
time your income or family situation
changes.  For more information about
what to do when you want your case
reviewed, ask your caseworker or call
the Bureau of Customer Support and
Services toll free at 1-800-843-6154
(voice) or (866) 324-5553 TTY/Nextalk 
or 711 TTY Relay.


