May 28, 2015 Redeploy Illinois Executive Committee Meeting


Redeploy Illinois Oversight Board Members and Staff. The public is welcome to attend.


May 28, 2015 
1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.


This meeting will be conducted via video conference with Chicago & Springfield Locations as follows:

  • Chicago: 401 South Clinton, 7th floor Think Tank Video Conference Room.
  • Springfield: 100 South Grand Avenue East, 3rd Floor Executive Conference Room.
  • (888) 494-4032; Pass Code: 532.954.7331


  1. Call to Order
  2. Roll Call
  3. Consideration of New Funding Request for FY15
  4. Adjourn


  1. Call to Order
    The meeting was called to order at 1:05 p.m.
  2. Roll Call
    Janet Ahern, Grace Hong Duffin, Jim McCarter, Mary Reynolds, George Timberlake. Staff and Guests: Karrie Rueter, Kassandra Hauptmann, and Angie Jimenez. John Payne and Steve Sawyer participated by phone.
  3. Consideration of New Funding Requests for FY15
    1. Springfield Public School District #186
      Superintendent Jennifer Gill of Springfield Public School District #186 submitted a funding request for Crossroads Training in the amount of $7,100.
      Following discussion, the Executive Committee concluded that insufficient information was provided to connect the requested project to the Redeploy Illinois program and therefore a vote was not called.
    2. Illinois Department of Children and Family Services - Office of Racial Equity Practice
      Robert T. Blackwell, from the Office of Racial Equity Practice, submitted a funding request for $30,650 for the remaining development of its "Race Informed Practice Training Model."
      After lengthy discussion, the Executive Committee decided that although they are very supportive of the items in the request and the plan put forth by DCFS, there were too many questions regarding the connection of this request to the Redeploy Illinois program as well as concerns with the proposed timeframe for implementation, therefore, the Executive Committee did not call the request for a vote. The Committee further agreed that they did not have the statutory authority to fund this request as proposed.
  4. Adjourn
    Mary Reynolds made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Janet Ahern. Meeting Adjourned at 2:15p.m.