MR #23.34 2024 Illinois State Minimum Wage Increase

Illinois Department of Human Services Logo



  • Effective 01/01/2024 the Illinois State Minimum Wage will increase to $14.00 per hour.
  • Earnfare participants may now earn up to $490 per month, due to the state minimum wage increase.
  • The state minimum wage of $14.00 per hour can be used in determining the number of hours of participation for Earnfare and Community Workfare for the SNAP Employment and Training Program.
  • The state minimum wage of $14.00 per hour can be used for TANF when determining the maximum number of hours to assign an individual in work-like activities.

Due to state law, the state minimum wage will increase to $14.00 per hour effective 01/01/2024. The new minimum wage can be used when determining customer participation hours for SNAP Employment and Training Program and certain TANF work-like activities.

SNAP Employment and Training Program (SNAP E&T)


  • Effective 01/01/2024, Earnfare participants may earn up to a maximum of $490 per month after working off the value of their SNAP benefit amount divided by the state or federal minimum wage, whichever is higher.
  • The state minimum wage is currently higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25.
  • Effective 01/01/2024, the state minimum wage is $14.00 per hour.

Community Workfare

A person's monthly participation hours are based on the amount of SNAP benefits received divided by the state minimum wage of $14.00 per hour effective 01/01/2024.

TANF FLSA and Deeming

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) determines the maximum number of hours to which an individual may be assigned in work-like activities. Customers cannot be assigned more hours than the total amount of Cash and SNAP benefits divided by the larger of State or Federal Minimum wage for:

  • Work Experience; or
  • Community Service.

For these two FLSA activities, the core 20/30 hour participation requirement is deemed met for a case when the customer participates the number of hours indicated by the FLSA calculation.

Revised Forms

Forms IL444-3673/3673S and IL444-4044/4044S will be revised to reflect the new state minimum wage of $14.00.

Manual Revisions

[signed copy on file]

Dulce M. Quintero

Secretary-Designate, Illinois Department of Human Services

Forms referenced: