PM 06-11-02-a: In-home/Remedial Care Services

WAG 06-11-02-a.

In-home/Remedial Care services are provided in DHS approved Home and Community-Based Residential Settings, not including the client's normal home setting. In order to receive these services the client must be living in a DHS approved Home and Community-Based Residential Setting.

In order to be placed in a DHS approved Home and Community-Based Residential Setting to receive services, the person must:

  • be age 18 or over,
  • be developmentally disabled, and
  • otherwise require institutional care in an ICF/MR facility as determined by DHS - ODD.

Approved residential settings operate under the standards and licensing authority of the Department of Public Health (DPH) and DHS.

In-home/Remedial Care services are provided by government or nonprofit agencies, or privately owned for-profit agencies operated under contract with DHS.

DHS approved residential settings are not medical, nursing, or sheltered care facilities.

Certain services provided in these settings are included in the In-Home Care Program (see PM 20-28-00). Although DHS refers to the "In-Home Care Program" as "Medicaid waiver" and in-home care services as "waiver services", these terms all refer to the same thing.

Remedial care services are all those services provided through DHS and directed towards meeting the needs of disabled clients who are not receiving services through the In-Home Care Program. All services, except for room and board, provided through DHS are remedial care services.

In-home/Remedial Care services are provided in the following DHS approved Home and Community-Based Residential Settings:

  • Community Living Facilities

    A Community Living Facility (CLF) assists the person in preparing for independent living. It emphasizes teaching the person adequate social and daily living skills. Persons are involved in practical experiences in community living. The person receives guidance in planning for and utilizing leisure time and developing the ability to live independently in the community. CLFs are licensed by DPH, with a limit of no more than 20 residents. 

  • Special Home Placements

    Special Home Placements (SHP) are foster home placements designed for persons who can benefit from interacting in a family setting. The homes are certified by DHS to provide training in self-help, survival skills, social behavior management, and other needs as identified. Foster parents are responsible for providing documentation of structured habilitation programs. Community resources are used wherever possible. 

  • Home Individual Program

    A Home Individual Program (HIP) home is approved by DHS to provide care and training to one or 2 developmentally disabled persons. House parents are employed to supervise care of the residents and to administer and/or support the habilitation plan.