Illinois Prescription Monitoring Program (ILPMP) Advisory Committee


The Illinois Prescription Monitoring Program (ILPMP) is an electronic database that collects, tracks and stores reported data for controlled substances in schedules II-V controlled substances and selected drugs of interest, as well as other types of healthcare information. The ILPMP serves as an essential tool to ensure the safe use of controlled substances and other drugs. Utilizing the ILPMP supports clinical decisions and improves patient outcomes. The ILPMP is overseen by the Illinois Department of Human Services and was authorized by the Illinois Controlled Substances Act (720 ILCS 570/316) Statutory Charges and strictly adheres to HIPAA and all access, disclosure, and confidentiality provisions of Illinois Law.

  1. Evaluate and recommend changes to the Illinois Controlled Substances Act [720 ILCS 570].
  2. Evaluate and recommend changes to the Administrative Rules regarding the ILPMP.
  3. Recommend inclusions of training materials for prescribers and dispensers regarding Continuing Medical Education and Continuing Education programs.
  4. Review the contents of the Illinois Prescription Monitoring Program website ( to ensure that the contents are current at least on a semi-annual basis.
  5. Review opportunities for federal grants and other forms of funding to support projects to increase the number of EHRs integrating seamlessly into the ILPMP at least on a semi-annual basis.
  6. Review and prepare any communication to be sent to all registered users of the system relevant to prescribing and dispensing controlled substances at least on a semi-annual basis.

Board Requirements

Appointed members of a public board are generally required to participate in six trainings.


The Advisory Committee meetings are held at least bi-annually and are open to the public as prescribed in the Illinois Open Meetings Act. Meeting dates, agendas, and minutes are available at


The Advisory Committee is comprised of 15 members representing dispensers and prescribers.

Member Name Organization/Affiliation Term Expiration
Helga Brake, Pharm D Illinois Health and Hospital Association 2nd term 1/1/2024
William Campbell, DO* Health Solutions 2nd term 1/1/2023
Kenneth Candido, MD Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center 2nd term 1/1/2025
Ankur Dave, MD AMITA Health 1st term 1/1/2023
Raechel Ferry-Rooney, DNP, APRN, ANP-BC * University of Illinois Medical Center/Rush University College of Nursing Adult Health & Gerontology 2nd term 1/1/2024
Scott Glaser, MD* Pain Specialists of Greater Chicago 2nd term 1/1/2024
Shami Goyal, MD Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation/University of Illinois College of Medicine 2nd term 1/1/2023
Christopher Herndon, Pharm D* Southern Illinois University Edwardsville 2nd term 1/1/2025
Erica Ittner, OD* Illinois College of Optometry/Hawthorn Woods Family Eye Care/Illinois Eye Institute 1st term 1/1/2027
David Liebovitz, MD* Northwestern University 2nd term 1/1/2025
Ricki Loar, Ph.D., APRN, FPA Betty Jean Kerr Peoples Heath Center 1st term 1/1/2026
Garry Moreland, RPh* Moreland and Devitt Pharmacy 2nd term 1/1/2024
Mindy Sanders, PA* Springfield Clinic 2nd term 1/1/2025
Edward Segal, DDS* Edward H. Segal, DDS, LTD. 1st term 1/1/2024
Tran Tran, Pharm D., BCPS* Midwestern University, Chicago College of Pharmacy/RUSH University Medical Center 1st term 1/1/2025

* Also a Peer Review Committee member


The Peer Review Committee is a subcommittee of the ILPMP Advisory Committee and is comprised of 10 members. Members may identify prescribers or dispensers who may be prescribing outside the currently accepted medical standards of their professional practice and send the identified prescriber or dispenser a request for information regarding their prescribing or dispensing practices. Meetings are held at least bi-annually. A Peer Review Committee Annual Report is created.

ILPMP Peer Review Committee Annual Report FY 2023 (pdf)

ILPMP Peer Review Committee Annual Report FY 2022 (pdf)

ILPMP Peer Review Committee Annual Report FY 2021 (pdf)

IDHS Administrative Support

Illinois Prescription Monitoring Program Administrative Contacts:

Ethics Officer Contact:

Legislative Director:  Michelle Jenkins -