Due to state law, the state minimum wage will increase to $11.00 per hour effective January 1, 2021. The new minimum wage can be used when determining customer participation hours for SNAP Employment and Training Program and certain TANF work-like activities.
A person's monthly participation hours are based on the amount of SNAP benefits received divided by the state minimum wage of $11.00 effective 01/01/2021.
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) determines the maximum number of hours to which we may assign an individual in work-like activities. Customers cannot be assigned more hours than the total amount of cash and SNAP benefits divided by the larger of state or federal minimum wage for:
For these three FLSA activities, the core 20/30 hour participation requirement is deemed met for a case when the customer participates the number of hours indicated by the FLSA calculation.
Forms 3673 and 4044 have been revised to reflect the new state minimum wage.
[signed copy on file]
Grace B. Hou
Secretary, Illinois Department of Human Services
Illinois Department of Human ServicesJB Pritzker, Governor · Grace B. Hou, Secretary
IDHS Office Locator
IDHS Help Line
© 2020 Illinois Department of Human Services