As you are aware, DHS/DMH will begin requiring the use of the DSM 5 on October 1, 2015, concurrent with the switch from ICD-9 to ICD-10. Several of you have contacted us regarding what documentation is needed to be in compliance with Rule 132 on October 1st. Rule 132 will be revised to reflect this change, effective October 1st. This means that all Rule 132 documentation created on or after October 1, 2015, will need to be in compliance with the latest revision to the Rule.

However, there is no requirement that all existing MHAs and ITPs be updated with the DSM 5 diagnoses and/or ICD-10 codes by October 1, 2015. Instead, providers should implement the new diagnostic practices as MHA updates and ITP reviews are completed as needed after October 1st, and of course should begin using the new diagnostic and coding formats for any individuals that begin services October 1st or later, as well.

DHS/DMH will not be requiring that all existing registrations be updated on October 1st within the Collaborative registration system, either. Providers should begin reporting the DSM 5/ICD-10 codes on October 1st in the Collaborative registration system, and going forward, as existing registrations are updated during the regularly required intervals, the new codes will be required.

As a final reminder, all claims submitted to HFS on or after October 1st must use ICD-10 codes, regardless of the date the service was provided.

If you have further questions regarding this subject, please direct them to your Regional Contract Manager.

Lee Ann Reinert, LCSW

Clinical Policy Specialist


319 E Madison Ste 3B

Springfield, IL 62701

office: 217-782-0059

fax: 217-785-3066