From: Theodora Binion, Director
Division of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse
DASA Medicaid Billing
As a reminder, beginning July 1, 2012, the Save Medicaid Access and Resources Together (SMART) Act was enacted into law in Illinois. Among the changes to the Medicaid program is the requirement that providers have 180 days from the latest date on a Medicaid claim to bill that claim for payment. This change does apply to the Illinois Department of Human Services/Division of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse (DHS/DASA) Medicaid providers and became effective with services delivered on July 1, 2012. Thus, effective for services on or after that date, claims must be filed with DASA within 180 days of the date of service.
Please refer to the SMART Act at http://www2.illinois.gov/hfs/SiteCollectionDocuments/0970689.pdf.
You may email the DASA Help Desk with any questions you may have at DHS.DASAHelp@ILLINOIS.GOV.