This Staff Training Reimbursement and Billing Manual contains billing forms and instructions necessary for requesting reimbursement of training for staff of community residential and day programs serving adults and children with developmental disabilities. The following types of training reimbursement are available:
- Illinois Criminal Background Check Application Guidelines, advises providers to ensure that individuals are added to the Illinois Department of Public Health's Health Care Worker Registry (HCWR) in a timely manner.
- Electronic Fingerprint Background Checks - Public Act 096-0632: Regarding changes affecting residential and day program providers. An agency must obtain an Illinois State Police electronic fingerprint background check result from the live scan vendor serving their area. The Health Care Worker Background Check Act and rules require all health care employers and CNA training programs governed by this Act to have access to the web-based Health Care Worker Registry (HCWR) which can be accessed via the IDPH Web Portal.
Agencies covered by this Act should designate one person as a Portal Registration Authority (PRA) to act as a liaison with the IDPH's Information Technology Security for the purpose of managing portal accounts and application security role assignments. The PRA must register for a portal account to access the IDPH Health Alert Network through the online registration process.
If the fingerprint background check process is not yet available in your area, agencies must continue to obtain an Illinois State Police name-based Criminal Background Check. The person's social security number (SSN) must be written on the result and reported to the Health Care Worker Registry on or before the first day of DSP training class. Electronic fingerprint background check results are automatically reported to the Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH).
Important: Your agency is responsible for checking the HCWR to verify that the background check results were received and posted to the HCWR. If the results are not posted within three to four weeks of submittal, it is the agency's responsibility to contact the DDD at (217) 782-9438 or the HCWR to determine what needs to be done to get the background check result posted. Verifications can be made to the HCWR by phone, mail, or Internet web site by using the contact information listed below.
Illinois Department of Public Health
Health Care Worker Registry
535 West Jefferson Street, 4th floor
Springfield, Illinois 62761
Phone: (217) 785-5133
TTY: (800) 547-0466
DSP Registry packets must be accurately completed and postmarked within 30 days of the program completion date. Complete information about this process is in the DSP Illinois HCWR Registry Packet Instruction Manual(pdf). The training completion date is listed on the front page of the Direct Support Person Training Program Core Competency Area Checklist(pdf). Any DSP Registry packets that are postmarked beyond 30 days following completion of DSP training WILL NOT be processed and Southern Illinois University's Registration Services will return these packets to your agency.
If this occurs, please contact DDD at (217) 782-9438 or email DHS.BQM@illinois.gov. You will be sent a summary form to complete. Once reviewed and approved by DDD, you will be given clearance to resubmit a packet to SIU. DSP Registry packets that are incomplete or contain errors will be returned for corrections delaying any processing.
Important: It is critical to ensure that the employee's name and SSN on the background check are exactly the same as employee's name and SSN on the Direct Support Persons (DSP) Training Roster Form and the Illinois Health Care Workers Application Scan Form submitted to SIU. This will result in the designation of "DD Aide" being displayed on the person's entry under "Programs." Program codes 6000-6666 indicate that the individual is an approved Developmental Disability Aide/DSP. Example of HCWR record (pdf)
Training program information must be verified on the HCWR with correct SSN, name, training end date and approved training site as reported on your Staff Training Reimbursement Request. (Example of HCWR record (pdf)) Please do not submit for reimbursement before the training program can be verified with the designation of "DD Aide" displayed on the individual's entry under "Programs". Possible reimbursement will be delayed if the individual is not verifiable when the Staff Training Reimbursement Request is processed.
DDD stresses the importance of verifying the program information before submitting the Staff Training Reimbursement Request, as you may have to resubmit the Staff Training Reimbursement Request if this information does not match exactly to that on the HCWR.
Important: DSPs must have the designation "DD Aide" on the HCWR BEFORE they can work alone with people with developmental disabilities without a qualified person supervising their direct support activities.
- DDD does not reimburse staff training reimbursement requests for individuals in advance. The Staff Training Reimbursement Request, either initial submission or resubmission, can be processed if received over the 12-month time frame, and for those Staff Training Reimbursement Requests received after the lapse time period following the end of the fiscal year with training end dates of July 1, 2009 and after. This alleviates community providers submitting billings through the Court of Claims. DDD is able to continue this process, as long as no changes are made to the language of the State Finance Act (30 ILCS 105/1) and the Department's appropriation that allows for this practice.
- DDD will verify the number of hours approved for provider's DSP curriculum, and will only reimburse up to that number of hours, not to exceed 130 hours. DDD is collecting this data with each provider's two-year DSP curriculum renewal at this time.
If your DSP curriculum has not been renewed since this began, the Department's maximum up to 130 hours will still apply until your hours are collected. IDPH approves the Nursing Assistant/Aide curriculum, but any additional hours to train a Nursing Assistant/Aide to become a DSP must be approved by DDD and you will be reimbursed up to that number of hours, not to exceed 130 hours.
- An individual must satisfactorily complete an approved DSP training program at an approved training site by an approved instructor. The training program must be an approved and current (not expired) training program for the individual's ENTIRE training period. DDD will verify that these requirements are met before possible reimbursement can occur. DSPs must successfully complete an approved DSP training program within 120 calendar days from date of hire but it cannot be completed in less than 21 calendar days from when it starts.
Exception: When the classroom portion of the approved training program is conducted by a community college or other educational institution, in which case the training program must be completed by the end of the term, semester, or trimester in which the individual began the community college or other educational institution training program. In these instances, the end date is tied to the end of the term, semester or trimester. Please indicate on the billing form if the classroom training is conducted by a community college or other educational institution.
Important: The billing agency will not be reimbursed for an individual whose training was not completed in accordance with prescribed time frame of 120 calendar days from date of hire and not completed in less than 21 calendar days from when it starts.
An approved and current (not expired) DSP training program must be in place covering the ENTIRE training period before the Department can authorize reimbursement to agencies for DSP training expenses.
Your agency will be given a rejection code and referred to DDD at (217) 782-9438 or email at DHS.BQM@illinois.gov for further instruction how to request an exception to these time frames due to specific circumstances occurring in your agency.
If an exception is approved by DDD, you may resubmit for possible reimbursement. You must include a copy of your 120-day exception letter, an original Staff Training Reimbursement Request, with an original signature, with resubmittal indicated at the top of the billing.
If you know, prior to your submission, that a 120-day exception letter is needed, do not submit the Staff Training Reimbursement Request until you can include the Staff Training Reimbursement Request with the 120-day exception letter; otherwise, a rejection will be given, delaying possible reimbursement.
- The Department will pay for the retraining of DSPs (DR), Developmental Disabilities Aides/Habilitation Aides (AR), or Nurse Assistant/Aides (NR), no more than once each five years, up to your agency's maximum approved hours, not to exceed 130 hours.
Staff may be assessed for refresher training needs for 40 hours of classroom training or 40 hours of classroom training and any portion of the 80-90 hours of on-the-job (OTJ) training up to your maximum reimbursable hours, not to exceed 130 hours, or your full DSP approved training program up to your maximum reimbursable hours, not to exceed 130 hours (excluding breaks, lunch, and any orientation to the specific policies of the employing agency or facility).
Retraining is reimbursable for an individual who was previously reimbursed more than 5 years ago at the same agency. If an organization retrains staff, the individual must be submitted to HCWR to verify successful completion of the retraining. Retraining is not required.
- As part of the In-Home Support Waiver for Children and Young Adults with Developmental Disabilities, providers for Home-Based Supports to eligible children and young adults must train their staff using an approved DSP training curriculum are now eligible for reimbursement. There is still no reimbursement for staff in Child Group Homes who have to meet the Department of Children and Family Services staff training requirements.
- The Staff Training Reimbursement Request must have an original authorized signature and be submitted for possible reimbursement consideration from the employing agency. The employing agency must sign and submit the Staff Training Reimbursement Request when training is successfully completed.
If your agency is approved to train elsewhere for the classroom portion of training, the OJT training must be completed at the employing agency. The DDD will verify that the billing agency has an approved program, approved training site and an approved instructor. It is the employing agencies responsibility to verify that the train out agency also has an approved training program, approved training site and an approved instructor. Both training programs must be current and Department approved for the individual's ENTIRE training period.
Qualified Intellectual Disability Professionals (QIDP), employed by the provider must receive 40 hours of basic training on a DHS approved course if employed after October 1, 1999. QSPs employed by the provider must receive 12 hours of DHS approved continuing education units (CEU) per State of Illinois Fiscal Year (July 1 - June 30).
Documentation of 12 hours of CEUs annually (July 1 - June 30) must also be maintained for each QIDP. The CEU requirement excludes the fiscal year in which the QIDP completed the initial 40 hours of QIDP training. The Staff Training Reimbursement Request will not be considered with a 40-hour QIDP training end date and 12 hour QIDP Continuing Education (QE) training end date within the same Illinois State Fiscal Year (July 1 - June 30).
Individuals must satisfactorily complete an approved QIDP training program at an approved training site by an approved instructor. DDD will verify that the billing agency has an approved QIDP training program and an approved instructor on file with the Department.
The Staff Training Reimbursement Request will not be considered with a QIDP training end date prior to DDD's QIDP approval date. Staff Training Reimbursement Request will not be considered with a QIDP Continuing Education training end date prior to DDD's QIDP approval date.
When submitting the Staff Training Reimbursement Request, possible reimbursement for 40 hour QIDP training or 12 hour QE will be rejected if the QIDP name, social security number or employing agency number does not match the QIDP registry. Agencies need to keep the QIDP Registry up-to-date. You may do this by contacting DDD at (217) 782-9438.
- DDD will verify that an individual successfully completed a Department instructed training course for QIDP Train-the-Trainer, Medication Administration Train-the-Trainer and Residential Director Core Training before possible reimbursement can occur. Please be sure to sign attendance sheets for these Department-instructed courses.
- DSPs hired prior to April 1, 2000, could become qualified through an alternative, competency-based training method for a Department maximum of 49 hours. No reimbursement is available for this "DC" training type effective November 1, 2001.
You will find detailed instructions necessary to complete a Staff Training Reimbursement Request to bill DHS for each training type in the Staff Training Reimbursement Request form and in the "Training Type" section. Please submit the Staff Training Reimbursement Request to DHS only in the format of the forms provided in this Manual with an original authorized signature.
Important: Different forms are required if the Staff Training Reimbursement Request is being submitted by an ICF/DD, a SNF/PED or by a Community Provider. See Forms. Please make sure you are using the correct forms and format for your agency.
Important: A separate form is required for each agency number or provider number to ensure proper reporting and tracking of federal claiming. Each agency must submit Staff Training Reimbursement Requests on separate billing forms for each agency number or provider number. The 4-digit agency number or 12-digit provider number is not the same as your Training Site No. Class/OJT (e.g., 6000).
Staff Training Reimbursement Request information provided must be for actual wages and fringes paid to the trained staff and incurred by the agency, actual hours trained, and actual amounts incurred for instruction and instruction materials. Please report actual paid amounts whether they are less than or exceed the Department's maximums.
If your agency is approved to train the classroom portion at another approved site, the Training Site No. Class/OJT column will have two different numbers, otherwise the same number will be entered twice. If you do not know your correct number, please contact DDD at:
- (217) 557-7673
- (217) 782-9438
Please leave the Training Site No. Class/OJT blank for training types Q, QE, QT, M, MT, or R. Please do not submit back-up documentation with the Staff Training Reimbursement Request, it is not required. The individual must be employed by the agency at the time the individual's name is submitted for reimbursement for all training types.
All training hours for classroom and OJT must be billed at one time. Partial hours for classroom or OJT, if submitted, will be reimbursed but no additional hours will be accepted until another 5-year time frame is met.
Certification and Signatures
You must certify the information submitted to DHS on the "Staff Training Reimbursement Request" as being true and correct. Subject to audit or review is DHS and Department of Public Health training records and registries, any and all provider records, training rosters and training records necessary to permit DHS or its agency to document:
- names of individuals completing training including sign-in sheets for each module or classroom training with the module or class name, class date, class times, instructor signature and trainee signature
- time frame of training for each individual including actual hours of training with date of hire and date of completion
- actual incurred amounts for wages, fringes, instruction and instruction materials paid to individual
- attendance records with appropriate signature that attests that each individual completed training, including the DSP Training Core Competency Area Checklist.
- payroll records of employment documenting the time and date each individual was in training
- original criminal background check at the time of hire and annual HCWR checks thereafter
- original Test of Adult Basic Education (TABE) test score sheet or original ABLE or CASAS test score sheet
- current first aid and CPR certification verification
- dates of medication administration class, test, Competency-Based Training Assessment
All such records must be maintained for not less than 5 calendar years.
Complete the payee information form in the "Provider Payee Information" section. This is very important to assure proper payment processing and mailing.
Submit this form with your first bill, and submit subsequent changes to the payee information when they occur. Payee changes sent to other Department areas do not change your Staff Training Reimbursement Request payee submission information. These changes need to be submitted separately to either of the staff listed below.
You may include the payee information form with any Staff Training Reimbursement Request submittal. Payments can be delayed if the payee information does not match state records. You may verify the current payee information on file when you receive your Staff Training Verification form (in the upper left corner). Important: Please do not submit this form if information is correct. It is not required for each billing form submission.
Mailing Address and Phone Numbers
All Staff Training Reimbursement Requests, Payee Information Requests, Correction Form DSP/DD Aide Training Program Roster may be mailed to the attention of:
Shaun Tobin, (217) 557-7673 at the following address:
Department of Human Services
Division of Developmental Disabilities
Bureau of Community Reimbursement
Long Term Care Payment Unit
Staff Training Reimbursement Section
319 East Madison, Suite 2K
Springfield, IL 62701
Fax: (217) 782-9535
Do not fax or email original or resubmission billing requests, an original signature is required. When resubmissions are necessary, you may submit a copy of the original Staff Training Reimbursement Request and re-sign the billing request to provide an original signature with the resubmission individuals highlighted and resubmission indicated at the top of the form. Do not submit the Staff Training Verification Form as the resubmission billing form as all data is not readily available for data entry.
Questions concerning training programs, training program approvals, the 120-day exception letter or 30-day exception letter may be directed to DDD at (217) 782-9438.