Policy Memo: Disaster SNAP (D-SNAP)


  • Due to the recent flooding in Illinois the following counties have been declared federal disaster areas: Carroll, Cook, Dupage, JoDaviess, Ogle, Stephenson, and Winnebago Counties.
  • The United States Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Services Midwest Regional office has approved the State to operate a Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) in the above counties from August 30, 2010 through September 03, 2010.
  • Persons not receiving SNAP benefits under the regular program may complete an Application for Disaster SNAP Benefits (Form 0270) at the FCRC servicing those areas from 08/30/10 through 09/03/10 from 8:30 am to 4:00 pm.
  • Persons that were receiving regular SNAP benefits in August, 2010 may complete a Request for D-SNAP (Form 0274) from 08/30/10 through 09/03/10.
  • There must be a face-to-face interview with an eligibility worker.
  • The D-SNAP has a special application, timeframe (July 22 - August 20), and eligibility requirements to help eligible victims of a federally declared disaster receive SNAP benefits quickly. The interview and eligibility determination are made at the time they are applying for the D-SNAP.
  • If eligible, applicants receive the maximum benefit amount for their SNAP unit size for one full month effective August, 2010.
  • Applicants receiving regular SNAP benefits may qualify for supplemental D-SNAP benefits for August, 2010 to bring their benefit amount up to the maximum benefit amount for their SNAP unit size. They can qualify for this benefit even if they received replacement SNAP benefits for food destroyed as a result of the disaster.
  • Eligibility requirements under the regular SNAP program do not apply to the D-SNAP.
  • All D-SNAP applications must be processed through IPACS. Do not register or process DSNAP in AIS.