From: Danielle L. Kirby, Director
Division of Substance Use Prevention and Recovery

10,000 HELPLINE CALLS

More than 10,000 people have called the Illinois Helpline for Opioids and Other Substances since its launch in December 2017. The Helpline is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week for individuals experiencing opioid use disorders, families, and anyone affected by the disease. The Helpline is confidential and free. Helpline specialists are trained in evidence-based approaches to help connect callers with treatment services and recovery support services. To reach the Helpline, call 1-833-2FINDHELP or visit HelplineIL.org.

PPW-OUD AWARDS

Three (3) providers have been awarded funds through the State Opioid Response (SOR) Pregnant and Postpartum Women with Opioid Use Disorders (PPW-OUD, 19-444-26-1746-01) project. These providers will pilot family-based services to pregnant and postpartum women with a diagnosis of opioid use disorder (OUD). Program components include the use of specialized screening, referral, family-based treatment interventions, and recovery support services for pregnant and postpartum women with OUD and their families. The three organizations that will each receive grant funds to pilot the program for Pregnant and Postpartum Women with OUD are:

Chestnut Health Systems, Inc.
Bloomington, IL
JoEllyn Patterson: jpatterson@chestnut.org

The Women's Treatment Center, Inc.
Chicago, IL
Dora Dantzler: ddantzler@womenstreatmentcenter.org

McDermott Center/Haymarket Center
Chicago, IL
Kenyatta Cathey: KCathey@hcenter.org

If you have any questions about the PPW-OUD project, please contact Lisa Cohen at lisa.cohen@illinois.gov.

HOSPITAL WARM HANDOFF AWARDS

Eight (8) hospitals have been awarded funds through the State Opioid Response (SOR) Hospital Screening and Warm Handoff project, which supports the creation of hospital-based programs that provide robust, evidence-based screening, brief intervention, and referral to treatment (SBIRT) and warm handoff services to persons with opioid use disorder(OUD) and/or other substance use disorders (SUD). The eight hospitals that will receive grant funds for this program are:

Advocate Christ Medical Center, Oak Lawn
Susan Cusak: Susan.Cusack@advocatehealth.com

Alton Memorial Hospital, Alton, IL
Meridith Parker: Meridith.Parker@bjc.org

Methodist Medical Center of Illinois, Peoria
Angela Moore: angela.moore@unitypoint.org

Mount Sinai Hospital and Medical Center, Chicago
Eric Lenzo: eric.lenzo@sinai.org

Norwegian American Hospital, Chicago
Michelle Y. Blakely: mblakely@nahopsital.org

Presence Saints Mary and Elizabeth Medical Center, Chicago
Marcy Darin: marcy.darin@amitahealth.org

Roseland Community Hospital, Chicago
Eva McMiller: emcmiller@roselandhospital.org

Swedish American Hospital, Rockford
Dana Northcott: dnorthcott@r1planning.org

For more information about IDHS/SUPR's Opioid Crisis Response Grants, see http://www.dhs.state.il.us/page.aspx?item=105980. Questions about these projects can be directed to Richard Sherman at Richard.Sherman@illinois.gov.