Redeploy Illinois Oversight Board

Helping Families. Supporting Communities. Empowering Individuals.

Contact Information

Redeploy Illinois Oversight Board
815-823 East Monroe Street
Springfield, IL 62701


The Department of Human Services was charged with the task of convening an oversight board to develop plans for a pilot Redeploy Illinois Program.  The Board includes, but is not limited to, designees from the Department of Juvenile Justice, the Administrative Office of Illinois Courts, the Illinois Juvenile Justice Commission, the Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority, the Department of Children and Family Services, the State Board of Education, the Cook County State's Attorney, and a State's Attorney selected by the President of the Illinois State's Attorney's Association.  The current board contains designees from all of the above listed agencies. In addition, the chief Judge of the 2nd Circuit and representatives from several youth services providers serve as board members.

The Redeploy Illinois Oversight Board (RIOB) has identified jurisdictions to participate in the initial pilot program of Redeploy Illinois.  The board then developed a process and identified resources to support on-going monitoring and evaluation of the Redeploy Illinois program, the administration and evaluation of Redeploy Illinois, and to support training on Redeploy Illinois.  The RIOB is also responsible for developing a formula for reimbursement of local jurisdictions for local and community-based services utilized in lieu of commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice.  The Board also formulates a schedule of charges levied against local jurisdictions for commitments above the agreed upon limit in the approved plan.  On an annual basis, the RIOB prepares a report to the Governor and the General Assembly on the progress of the Redeploy Illinois pilot. In this report, progress in the pilot and any problems are tracked and examined.

Redeploy Illinois Oversight Board Members

  • Michelle R.B. Saddler, Secretary - Illinois Department of Human Services
  • Thomas Bilyk - Office of Cook County State's Attorney
  • Betsy Clarke - Juvenile Justice Initiative
  • Margie Groot - Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts
  • Grace Hong Duffin - Chief of Staff Illinois Department of Human Services
  • Jim McCarter - Maryville Academy, Scott Nolan Center
  • Peter Parry - Law Office of the Cook County Public Defender
  • The Honorable Michael Stuttley, Supervising Judge - Circuit Court of Cook County
  • Arthur Bishop - Director, Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice
  • James "Chip" Coldren - Governors State University, Criminal Justice Department
  • Jack Cutrone - Director, Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority
  • Patricia Griffith - Kids Hope United, Hudelson Region
  • Pamela Rodriguez - Illinois Juvenile Justice Commission, TASC
  • Anne Studzinski - Illinois Childhood Trauma Coalition
  • The Honorable George W. Timberlake, Ret. Chief Judge - MacArthur Foundation, Models for Change
  • Rick Velasquez - Youth Outreach Services, Illinois Juvenile Justice Commission 
  • Paula Wolff - Chicago Metropolis 2020 


  • Linda Saterfield, Director - IDHS/Division of Family and Community Services 
  • Michael Holmes, Associate Director - IDHS/Division of Family and Community Services
  • Karrie Rueter, Acting Bureau Chief - IDHS/Division of Family and Community Services 
  • James Sherwood - IDHS/Division of Family and Community Services
  • Danielle Donovan - IDHS/Division of Family and Community Services
  • The Honorable John Payne - IDHS/Division of Family and Community Services